top of page

Don't Take It Personally, Babe.


Let’s be real not everything is about us.

See,I was in love with the same boy from age 15 to 22. We literally been through everything together and I just knew I was going to marry him one day. Until, that miserable day happened and I found out he was cheating on me. The worst part? I thought it was all my fault.

When he cheated on me, I blamed myself. Maybe I wasn’t being intimate enough? Was I too bossy? Did I not show him enough attention? What did I do to deserve this betrayal?

When in reality, I wasn’t ready for a relationship and not because I was a terrible girlfriend. I was the best damn girlfriend out there. To be quite honest I was too much of a good girlfriend. I wasn’t ready for a relationship because I allowed someone to run over me, belittle me, and make me feel lower than my worth.

I wasn’t strong enough to be in a relationship. How could I love this boy or any boy if I didn’t love myself?

However, my ex wasn’t in love with himself either. Throughout our relationship he always put himself down. He always point out his flaws and talked about how he wasn’t good enough.

He didn’t cheat on me because of me. He cheated on me because of him. I couldn’t expect him to show me love and respect when he didn’t feel that way about himself.

Then I begin to realize anything someone does is not personal. Everyone is battling their own demons. Some just refuse to face them and lash out on others. I have been guilty of that. So with that break up, I begin to soul search and fall in love with myself.

And to be quite honest? I haven’t been happier.

So the next time you find yourself under someone else’s anger. Don’t take it personal. Until then, stay sunny.

bottom of page