top of page

Amanda Calbert


"Recently, I went from working two jobs down to one better paying job. This is great because I have more time to use towards positive things. I'm also less exhausted all the time which helps me maintain my general inner peace.

Unfortunately, the first couple of months at my new job, I was a bit strapped for cash. Instead of focusing on how much money I had when I was working 70-80 hours a week I looked at the fact that I was able to do things that I love. I prepare 90% of my meals at home. I spend nearly every evening with good friends. I have a feeling of accomplishment every time I go home to a clean kitchen. I could not maintain all this when I was working so much.

However, in apartments like mine, you do have to pay for laundry. I ended up needing clean clothes and only having $5 left after paying rent. I had planned on airdrying the clothes outside, but, the weather is pretty unpredictable where I live, and it ended up raining that day. Pay day was one week away. The combined cost of washing and drying my clothes was going to be about $10. But, I prayed about it and decided that I would just sort out the priority clothes when I got to the Laundromat.

I was putting my fiver into the change slot and something miraculous happened. Twenty dollars came flooding out of that sucker! I was so greatful. Crying as I was pulling the quarters out, I realised that I had an even more difficult decision on my hands. 3/4 of that money wasn't mine. Old me would have run out of there with that money. But the newer, more positive, faithful girl that I am becoming had to stop and think about it.

In the end, I asked the owner where I should leave the extra change.

I was struggling but the text was already sent. To my surprise, he let me keep the money as a reward for letting him know there was an issue with the machine. Not only was I able to pay for laundry but I was also able to put gas in my car!! Instead of thinking about myself, I just tried to do the right thing for everyone and everything worked out!

Little things like this remind me that what I give to the world is what I will get back and worrying about the how, buts, whos, and whens only makes things more difficult. "

bottom of page